Post-Production /VFB Module ignored

I am new to scene manager and was under the impression that I could batch-process VFB layers before the final output. With a VFB open, I can apply the preset that I want, hit “Fetch” in Scene Manager, and see the layers appear in the UI window. However, when I batch process from Scene Manager, all of that is ignored. Maybe I’m expecting a feature that isn’t possible? I just want to be able to have the VFB post-production composite layers applied before exporting to the final file formats. Is this possible?

Thanks

Dave

3ds Max 2024 Update 2
V-Ray 6 Update 1.2
Scene Manager 2.3.6

Hey @dave2

Thanks for this. I’m not sure if I fully understand your question but this is something we would like to implement. Currently you can’t batch process only the VFB changes and save them. Scene Managers batch render feature was created for rendering and then saving the output to the required folder.

However you can create multiple setups, modify the Post-processing values in the VFB and fetch them to the required setup. Start the render manually then once it is finished you can click through the Scene Manager setups that will change the VFB and you can save it manually. I think we could even write a script that does this at once. Let me know if that is useful and I can help you out.

Let’s see if I can make it more clear what I’m looking to do.

Current workflow:

1. Send image to render queue
  2. apply .vfbl preset as the image is rendering, or apply later to the resulting .vrimg file

What I would like to be able to do using Pulze Scene Manager

1. Batch render scenes and have the .vfbl applied automatically as part of the process, (before the final file is output).